Kathak is one of the seven classical dance forms of India. In North India, Kathak originated in temples as a form of story-telling. The one who tells story through music and dance is 'Kathak'.

The dance mainly portrayed the Hindu epics, Mahabharata and Ramayana. Some people believe that Kathak originated from 'Raas-Nritya'. Lord Krishna was pioneer of 'Raas-Nritya'. This dance form was passed from generations to generations.

In fifteenth century, North India was invaded by Mughal emperors. Kathak moved to Mughal courts. The focus shifted to entertainment of emperors. More exotic compositions were added. Urdu words were adapted in Kathak. Thus 'Shringar' rasa became more prominent than 'Bhakti' rasa.

Thus this dance which started as a form of story-telling evolved over the period and became a performing art. Kathak mainly has two aspects - Nritta (rhythmic aspect) and Nritya (expression aspect). Intricate footwork, fast pirouettes, graceful movements, exquisite expressions are some of the major characteristics of Kathak. There are three main Gharana (schools) of Kathak; they are Lucknow, Jaipur and Banaras.

Class structure

There are seven levels with set curriculum for each level.
  • level 1 - Prarambhik
  • level 2 - Praveshika Pratham
  • level 3 - Pravshika Poorna
  • level 4 - Madhyama Pratham
  • level 5 - Madhyama Poorna
  • level 6 - Upantya Visharad
  • level 7 - Visharad Poorna

Who can join?
Anyone above age six can join the school. Kids and Adults can learn and enjoy this dance form.